The Down Syndrome Association of Greater Cincinnati has a variety of committees that help fulfill our mission.  Experienced and passionate volunteers serve on each committee and work together to help make the DSAGC a successful organization.  

DSAGC Advisory Council

The purpose of the Advisory Council is to keep key stakeholders engaged with the DSAGC and to be available to advise the Board, Development Committee and the executive leadership with regard to fundraising initiatives, public relations and programming issues.  The Advisory Council does not have any authority to govern the DSAGC; such authority resides with the full board.
Pete Ney, Lana Makin, Jane Page-Steiner, Bill McCloy, Tayfun Tuzun, Pat McNickle, Scott MacEachen, Sally Hayes, Connie Hutzel, Lucinda Hurst, Sally Shott, Teresa Cracas

Executive Committee

This group includes the Board President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Secretary. They work closely with the Executive Director and sets direction in terms of agendas for the complete board.
Erin Brown, Carrie Sheil, Derrick Theetge, Evelyn Gibfried, Michael Sottile

Governance Committee

The focus of this committee is working on board development, overall health and growth of the board. This group also actively recruits, screens, orients and mentors new board members.
Niki Krebs, Kira Hinkle, Winsome Wilson, Kelsey Bertke, Shawn Wilson

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee oversees the budget writing process and monitors our revenue, cash flow and expenses on an on-going basis.
Luke Hail, Derrick Theetge, Ryan O'Brien, Rich Haffey, Brendan Walsh, Mary Kay laird

Government Affairs Committee (Advocacy)

This committee follows legislative developments on the local, state, and national levels. They share pertinent updates with families, advocate for the rights of all individuals with Down syndrome, and explore ways to support the mission of the DSAGC through government advocacy.  
Jen Alge, Ashley Barlow, Leslie Brown, Emily Chesnut, David Eberly,  ad hoc Chip Gerhardt, Adrienne Black, Lucinda Hurst, Abigail Kessinger

Health Advisory Board

The primary role of this group is to provide support and insight to our Outreach Coordinator and the families we serve. The HAB helps us explore the latest health trends and challenges that affect our community, educate DSAGC families, and connect and engage with regional medical professionals who serve people with Down syndrome. 
Dr. Todd Arthur, Neurologist CCHMC • Dr. Mark Deis, pediatrician, NKY Pediatrics • Dr. Anna Esbensen, psychologist, CCHMC Thomas Center • Dr. Stacey Ishman, ENT, Upper Airway Clinic, CCHMC • Dr. Walker Motley, ophthalmologist , CCHMC  •  Dr. TJ Nestheide, psychologist HCDD • Andrea Parker, LSW  • Nicki Smith, genetic counselor, TriHealth • Katelyn M. Seither, MD, Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellow • Marty Tomlin, ANP, Cardiology, CCHMC • Dr. Lauren Wang, Internist, Family Medicine •  Dr. Jason Woodward, med/peds physician, CCHMC •  Cassie Wolf, RN, CCHMC Thomas Center • Philip Knollman, ENT, CCHMC • Carrie Sheil, Senior Director, Clinical Trial Management at Med Pace

Educational Advisory Board

The primary role of this group is to provide encouragement, support and insight to our School Age Matters Coordinator.  This group also recruits School District Ambassadors and creates opportunities for educational professionals to improve their skills and comfort level in working with students with Down syndrome.  They also create opportunities and resources to assist parents with IEP’s and other school related topics.
Ashley Barlow, Gretchen Carroll, Heather Walsh, Caitlin Smith, Shelly Hoffstedder, Molly Blaker, Joanie Elfers, Rebecca Scheerer

Buddy Walk Committee

This committee assists the Events Manager in the promotion, logistics and the acquiring of sponsors for the Buddy Walk.  Another aspect for this group is to support our Buddy Walk team captains, especially our first-time teams.  This group typically meets once a month for 6 months before the event and then has a post-event wrap-up.  
Rosie Abel, Carl Dragan, Linda Dragan, Matt Oelrich, Maggie Sullivan, Mary Beth Sullivan, Lindsey Dye, Tony & Shannon Thornberry, Balazs Nemeth

Golf Committee

Bill McCloy, Dave Lapham, John Allen, Tom Gregory, Steve Hunt, Joe Neville, Lisa Steele, Steve Young

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

This committee made up of committed, diverse members of our community, including board members, staff and other passionate DSAGC advocates. They are responsible for developing the framework and action steps to bring our DEI statement to life in a sustainable, actionable way. This group will work together to detect current gaps, identify underserved populations, listen to stakeholders and review valuable recommendations.
Amy Iten, Anna Esbensen, Brooke Barnes, Jenetta Thomas, Jim Hudson, Kelly Jones, Leesha Thrower, Janet Maine, Mark Deis, Molly Blaker, Phyllis Thomas, Sasi Chockalingham, Winsome Wilson

Giving Tree Committee

The Giving Tree committee is responsible for organizing and executing our annual Giving Tree program which serves approximately 70 families and over 200 children each holiday season. This committee is made up of 2 staff and 2 volunteers. One volunteer focuses on the receipt of family request information and the second volunteer focuses on our sponsors and matching them with recipient families.
Kira Hinkle and Michelle Hopkins

Find Your Way Committee

This committee provides support and insight to our Young Adult Coordinator as she plans and develops our new “Find Your Way” program. Find Your Way is a new collection of programs focusing on self-determination in adults with Down syndrome. These programs will include IGNITE, ACCELERATE, NAVIGATE, and CRUISE. This group will provide suggestions, feedback, and at times, lends a helping hand during Find Your Way events.
Kelsey Bertke, Lauren Krebs, Hope Wullinger

Aging Advisory Board

The primary role of this group is to collaborate with our Adult Coordinator and other staff members on topics related to Health Aging in the Down syndrome community. This advisory board will keep up-to-date and work towards solutions for the challenges affecting our aging population.
Kim Wynn, Tim Vasconcellos, Rosie Able, Clarissa Rentz, Kristin Cooley

Interested in becoming a committee member?  Please contact our Executive Director, Jim Hudson. Email Jim